All things Golden

As a tribute to the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games hosted by the city of London, I thought it appropriate to dedicate a post to this auspicious occasion. As a competitor of the Games, it is every athletes goal to walk away with that coveted Gold Medal..But..for the rest of us plebs that is but a mere fantasy. So in true Olympic spirit, i have decided to compile a personal list of my Top 10 favourite Golden items, memories and experiences to share with you all..

#10: Gold Reef City

(Because who doesn’t love an adrenaline rush)

Gold Reef City

#9: The Golden Snitch

(I don’t care if it makes me a nerd, I absolutely love Harry Potter)

The Golden Snitch

#8: The Gold Coast – Great Barrier Reef

(My next dream destination, I conquered Europe for my 21st, next up Oz)

The Gold Coast, Great Barrier Reef

#7: Gold Digger – Kanye West

(The only word to explain this song is “Nostalgia”, Whenever I hear this song I think of my highschool days, young and without a care in the world)

Kanye West

Gold Digger – Kanye West

#6: Emilio Pucci’s Golden Gown

(Classy, Sheek, absolutely flawless)

Emilio Pucci Golden Gown

#5: Entourages’ Ari Gold

“This is now the biggest agency in the world. And I’m the head of it. Which makes me the biggest agent in the world. Now, can anyone tell me why I chose to be the biggest agent in the world? It’s so I can stop being a f**king agent. So don’t tell me to show the love, that’s what I pay you people for”

Ari Gold

#4: Golden Gate Highlands National Park

(Breathtaking, Home is where the heart is)

Golden Gate Highlands National Park

#3: “All that is Gold does not Glitter” J.R.R Tolkien 

J.R.R Tolkien

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king

J.R.R Tolkien

#2: Goldfish

(Goldfish encapsulate everything I love about South Africa, Talent, Endless possibility, Original, Bright Future. Plus I just adore them!”

Goldfish

My number one deserves not only a drum roll, but just an all round standing ovation..

NUMBER ONE:

My Favourite Golden Girl

BETTY WHITE

(Because what’s not to love!!)

The Golden Girl, Betty White

2 thoughts on “All things Golden

Leave a comment