Playing with Fire

Applying for a post-grad position in AAA’s (School of advertising) class of 2013 I came across a rather intriguing question.

Imagine that you are a product. 

  • Name the product you have chosen to be. 
  • Which qualities make you (the product) different?

The Product I chose..a Zippo Lighter..and this is what I had to say about the matter:

As a Zippo Lighter I am small, compact and mobile. I am available to perform the necessary task in any environment and can do so effortlessly without a fuss.

I am available in a variety of versions and designs to fit each consumer’s unique characteristics. I have an impressive collection of diverse manifestations to allow you to feel the most comfortable and enthusiastic about your choice in product.

I was designed in a manner in which I can be purchased by a variety of customers at different prices depending on what they can afford, there is an option for everyone. I am accessible.

If you don’t like what I have to offer, I am open for critical commentary. Create your own design, and together we will produce the best possible outcome. I am not a novelty. I imbue class and style and may even be deemed a collectors item if properly cared for.

I am a small object which produces a large outcome. I can be used, not only to light a cigarette, but a gas stove (eco-friendly), a romantic candle lit dinner, or simply be engraved as a keep sake for a special person. However,

I bring the heat in all situations and create light in the darkest of situations. Most importantly I come with a guarantee. Quality is my most prized asset.

Leave a comment