Tuks of Niks

A bitter-sweet ending to my four years at the University of Pretoria. I could not have imagined a more perfect University experience! Living in Madelief, winning the status of the Best Residence overall at Tuks in my first and last year at the academic institution, as well as many adventures into the depths of Mordor (better known as Dropzone to locals), and unforgettable nights we will never remember. There is also the formality of obtaining my Honours Degree in a BA Information Design,..however..we all know there is much more to student life, than text books,all nighters and overdosing on redbull! As my graduation date draws nearer, and my big move to the Mother City literally awaits around the corner, I only find it most appropriate to reflect on the highlights of being a Tuks student, and moments that will always remain special to me! Bare with me…this is going to be a long one..but well worth the read.


id copy

So a good place to start would probably be…why was I here?? From the age of about 12 I pretty much knew I belonged in the creative industry. So upon researching potential university options, I stumbled upon this lovely little elite course at Tuks known as Information Design. And the only way I can describe it is Graphic design ON STEROIDS..Encompassing an array of media explorations including Print, Multimedia, Photography, Animation, Motion Graphics, Advertising, Corporate Identities, Branding etc etc. My fondest memories include hours perfecting the technique of applying smooth Gouche (NAAAAT) , hours spent on kerning typography,  and doing rad things like pinhole photography. The highlight of my entire 4 years must be the development of our Diabetes Mobile App, currently being produced by the Praekelt foundation that we created during a social design project…and then of course the completion of my thesis and handing in our final portfolio presentations….

mads copy

So that’s what I did, but where did I do it? Res life is an experience I would recommend to anyone who is keen to meet hundreds of people you would have never jol’d with and making friendships that last a lifetime. Madelief, known as the “Ladies Res of Tuks” is a part of my life I take pride in. From Protecting my Jottir (Our infamous white polystyrene hats) from the clutches of other residences with my pepper spray and Usain Bolt-like chasing strategies I managed to only lose one during the period of my first year. Other fond memories include our infamous Serrie and Ienkmelodienk performances (of which I stood center front row of course), and many other traditions such as pot n pons, Rag and all the creatively sexy outfits we would compile for our various boys res socials..to give you an idea they looked something like this:

social copy

From the top left: Snooki and the Situation ; Thad from Blue Mountain State; Cops and Robbers; “I’m in Miami Bitch”, and “Dirty Doctors and Naughty Nurses”..But hey, I use any excuse to dress up..the best combination of creativity and fashion..#loveit!

commune copy

Yet another reason to dress up! The infamous commune parties hosted by Darrith, Guy, Matt, Chappie and Jason…the biggest mares of the year..First year adopted the step brothers anthem “Boats and Hoes” as the theme and the Second year “Dirty Doctors, Naughty Nurses and Paralytic patients”…to this day my most vivid memory is that potent Orange Punch…yessus…but THE best house parties held in Pretoria HANDS DOWN!

dance copy

What an amazing experience! The exposure, the adrenaline rush of standing in the middle of the field waiting to perform, the cute outfits but most importantly, getting to be on TV whooohoooo! My ten seconds of fame, so I can at least say been there done that (couldn’t keep the T-shirt because they are stingy like that.) As amazing as my time with the Bulls Babes and Tuks Cheerleaders was, the hours were incredibly demanding (I’m talking about 5 to 6 days a week, 3hours a pop per training sesh…dead dead dead)!

eastflatcopy

The best year of my life at Tuks! Second year res, living with these amazing ladies in the East Flat. Beautiful, intelligent, kind and the best friends! You would think living in a confined space with 5 other girls would be extremely challenging, and yes, there was the occasional dispute about who stole whose cheese and vienna’s, but a greater combination could not have been thrown together. Our flat was made up of Jenna “Earthchild” Kelly, the hippy, Nicole Lowther, the laywer, Lindie Nolte, the aspiring movie star, Hanneke Vd Westhuizen, future president, Margaux Stevens, the songbird and then me, the tiny dancer. From informals, to Stellenbosch, to Durbs, to 3am egg on toast dmc’s in the lounge, there was never a dull moment..Love you girls forever and ever <3

vc copy

And so the festivities begin.. Varsity cup! Always a write off, but oh so festive,painting ourselves in Tuks colours and prancing around in our “Tuks of Niks” vests! Pre-drinks at the Circuits followed by black labels on the hill, ending in the inevitable dropzone jol..tequila aflowing in celebrations of our OBVIOUS victory :) Got to love that uni spirit! And being as cool as we are, we even got a little attention in the Beeld for our stellar supporter behaviour!

rag copy

RAG – Reach out and Give…me another beer! Its reputation precedes it.. there is no way to describe a Tuks Rag unless you experience it for yourself! Every year is a completely different experience as more and more students create a scene acting against Tuks’s threats to cancel the historic parade due to our (supposedly reckless) behaviour, but they will not have any of it..RAG will live on! And if not..at least I was there before they cancelled it sorry youngens!

sd copy

Yet another tradition that has been threatened to be disposed of…ya not likely. Spring day is an annual day we get off varsity to celebrate the coming of spring..or actually just missing a day of varsity which is awesome. Spring day is introduced by an array of pre-spring parties hosted by various men’s residences in which it is usually tradition to “res-hop” judging which party is the best. This is (was) followed by an amazing day at Harlequins Rugby club spent laying in the sun, listening to AWESOME live music, cheap booze and lots of slip and slides. This is a tradition i am VERY VERY upset to see go…what a treat!

st patties copy

St Patties day! If you have not experienced a St Patties day in Hatfield square, you have not lived! The popular Irish holiday is celebrated by Tuks students annually with extreme enthusiasm! Preparation is key! Rule Number one: You have to wear green or else you are lame! Number two: if you are extremely cool (like us) you make outfits and shirts with any appropriate irish symbol, whether it be beer, pots of gold, four leaf clovers or the ultimate Leprechaun! And yes new shirts are to be made every year..recycling ideas are unacceptable!

 

A few random tidbits which I will always remember about my time at TUKS:

283351_10150724386145237_7922056_n

The amazing Bravo’s Pizza and how we would have to bring our own dop because they didn’t have a liquor license.. 

429378_10151348966215237_677043053_n

Seeing this gladiator slide on the middle of campus for no apparent reason..it was awesome!

425350_10151360695720237_1961285851_n

The Fury car the was always parked outside the Visual Arts Department, and never figuring out who drove it.. (The North-West number plate is no surprise of course!)

31773_10150184681705237_3994652_n

When you just HAVE TO down that disgusting drink because you are too poor to afford the nice expensive stuff..

197670_10151781526735237_928456752_n

Having to stay on campus all night using the iMACS because our poor macbook pro’s were too slow to render our enormous After Effects animations..

581216_10151801394215237_794688484_n

Studying irrelevant pointless articles because our study leaders were pretentious and tried to make us feel stupid on purpose.

533475_10151557614320237_591736073_n

That amazing energy high you get after pulling all nighters and seeing the sun rise.. That “I can conquer the world feeling!”

488011_10151950728725237_2136247237_n

My amazing 2012 flatmate Ashleigh who suffered through my weekly art messes of spray mount and rebull cans all over our lounge..Love you

560579_10152196267470237_691533352_n

Prime parking at the gym…better then getting an A!

522014_10152027792965237_132796477_n

5am treks from Rustenburg to Pretoria as the sun comes up..tollgate prettiness!!

427139_10151988343070237_786195872_n

Driving back to Rustenburg from Pretoria, tearing up a little listening to Tuksfm.. Ciao Ciao for now..ill see you for my graduation x

Leave a comment